Search Unity

Need help with a Smoke/Mist effect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Boingloins, Mar 19, 2021.

1. Boingloins

Boingloins

I would like a character in my game to have the ability to transform into a black mist, (in my head it sort of looks like sand?) I tested out using a Particle System, but it took a massive toll on the framerate. (It's possible I was using it wrong, seeing as this is my first time dealing with a Particle System.) Basically, I have no idea how to go about this. Should I use a Particle System? Is it possible to make a simulation with Blender and import it into Unity? Any help would be much appreciated.

2. neginfinity

neginfinity

Yes. Typically if your character transforms into a CLOUD of mist, you hide the model and spawn a particle that produces cloud. And if you want a walking shape, then you attach particle systems to object's bones. THen configure them.

"Massive toll" means that you're spawning too many particles.

Technically yes (you'll have to code it), practically, no and it is not really worth it.

tree_arb likes this.
  3. pekdata

pekdata

I guess for advanced cinematics it would be cool to puff particles at vertex positions or something?

4. MDADigital

MDADigital

If you need alot of particles you propably want to go with a GPU particle system.

Unity is still a CPU based particle system.

5. Murgilod

Murgilod

Effects Graph offers a GPU based particle solution.

MDADigital likes this.
  6. MDADigital

MDADigital

Can you migrate standard unity particles to it?

7. Billy4184

Billy4184

Socrates likes this.
  8. Murgilod

Murgilod

Interconnectivity between systems? In Unity?

Of course not. It's not even compatible with the most commonly used render pipeline.

9. MDADigital

MDADigital

:)

10. tree_arb

tree_arb