Search Unity

Need help understanding GPU bottleneck

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by sylvain_unity893, Jan 22, 2021.

1. sylvain_unity893

sylvain_unity893

Hello folks,
    I'm not very experienced in optimizing graphics and I'm in front of a weird situation that I would like to understand in order to find the best course of action. Hopefully somebody here is willing to help.

We are building a VR interactive story for the Oculus Quest 2 using URP and Unity 2020.2 and we want to establish the level of detail we can use on our characters, especially in the face, for facial expressions. As such, we created a scene that proxies our desired environment and have benchmarked it on the Quest 2. While doing so, I noticed a very weird behaviour where the ceiling and floor of our indoor environment cost around 15% of the GPU by themselves (as reported by OVR Metrics Tool).

The roof and floor are very simple static boxes with baked indirect lighting coming from a single mixed directional light. Both use the URP/Simple Lit shader and there are two other lights in the scene, a baked rectangle light for a window and a non shadow casting spot light.

I have tried many things but can't come to a conclusion as to why the GPU usage is so high on those surfaces. I know I'm not CPU bound as the render thread has some WaitForGFX in the profiler. I know it's not shadow casting as I disabled all shadows for other objects and still get the same slowdown. However, if I change their shader to Unlit, the GPU usage drops the same amount as disabling the GameObjects. I notice when enabling the GOs that the textures per fragment bumps from 2 to 3 and the instructions per fragment jumps from ~60 to ~100. The number of draw calls in the Frame Debugger is 44, all environment GOs are fully static and appear to be static batched since they get an unnamed mesh in the inspector.

What sense can I make of this or what other info should I look into to figure out what is going on?