Search Unity

Feedback Need help/tips from 2D experienced artists as a programmer struggling with art :(

Discussion in '2D' started by KeyGameUniverse, Dec 20, 2020.

1. KeyGameUniverse

KeyGameUniverse

Hello I am working on a 2D game that will mostly focused on combat.

I just need help on how to improve the art and direction of my game, I am a programmer and learning art as a programmer I struggle to make anything look decent.

I have a few questions that If any experience artist can answer will help me tons.

What software should I use? I learned Gimp 2 but if there is something better I will try it.
    What resolutions should I create my sprites?
    Sometimes I draw sprites on 1920x1080 and they still look blurry. Why is that?
    I see people use many sprites in one scene, can it affect performance?
    How can you try huge sprites without the scale messing up, like huge trees in the background?

Any other tip/help is appreciated!

Bellow are some images from my game...

upload_2020-12-20_13-50-18.png
    upload_2020-12-20_13-51-21.png
    upload_2020-12-20_13-59-44.png
    upload_2020-12-20_14-1-21.png

2. KeyGameUniverse

KeyGameUniverse

For now I am gonna experiment with vector graphics. Hopefully it will give some results I can work with.

3. raarc

raarc

i dont recommend vector, 99.9% of games do not use vector graphics

vector graphics are used mostly in the design industry for logos or print that needs to maintain the same look at a multitude of scales

to get better at art there is no shortcut, you draw a lot and get better overtime, I could say you need to add more shadows, no clash between styles( your water and moss cobblestone are very detailed compared to your grass and bridges that are 1 solid color taking up the whole screen ) but there is no actionable way you can fix this without spending a lot of time drawing.