Search Unity

Need help returning to Unity.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hafizmrozlan, Mar 13, 2016.

1. hafizmrozlan

hafizmrozlan

Hi and good day,

I have a dream, to make a video game. I've started a few years back learning Unity and C# and have got somewhat comfortable with it. I also manage to help with some collaboration (but the game is not completed), neither do I have any completed game. I have no prior programming experience. I also have full time job so my learning / development progress might be a bit slow.

However, I feel quite restricted in making game due to I have no access to any game asset even a decent one. At that time, I was foolish and don't know how to find a good / cheap asset. Feeling turned down because unable to produce anything good looking without any decent game art asset, I chose to continue my path with mobile application development, iOS specifically.

Since then I started to learn Objective-C. It was one hell of a language for a noob coder like me. The syntax and practice is quite far apart with other programming language. At the same time I also completed CS50: introduction to computer science on Harvard online course. Hoping to understand how to program better.

Then Swift came. It is far easier to grasp the concept than Objective-C. I follow along and develop a decent understanding of Swift. I study how Closure work, what is protocol and delegate. At this time I am comfortable with my knowledge, I know about value type vs reference type. I understand MVC programming pattern. But I still consider myself unskilled as a coder.

Now I'm able to make a simple application, not a large scale enterprise application. But apps such as to do list, maybe a reminder, or an alarm application. But I feel empty inside, I couldn't sense any enjoyment by completing that kind of project. This make me realise that I do not enjoy creating app, I just want to make game.