Search Unity

Need Help on Enemy AI logic

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by ReLisK, May 1, 2023.

1. ReLisK

ReLisK

I am a newby game dev (not new to programming) who has bit off more than he can chew here. I need help on what logic I should use to create my enemy AI. The premise of the game is, its a turn based game on a grid. You can only shoot from your left or right sides (or both). When it's the play phase you can select to either move Forward(vector3.forward)/Right(vector3.forward + vector3.Right)/Left(vector3.forward + -vector3.Right) for eg. and can chose to shoot if you want on both sides or one side. You can select up to 4 moves in total for eg. Forward and shoot left => right => left and shoot both sides => forward; or w.e you want. Once play phase is over the game then actually does all the moves for u and opponent at the same time 1 by 1. I have already built all of this in NGO but I also want an enemy AI for when a live opponent cant be found.

Problem is I cant figure out a good way to make the enemy AI select its moves. I have narrowed down a few thoughts but have no idea how to go about this. Some simple things that makes sense are:
    1. If the AI enemy isn't within shooting distance of the player it shouldn't shoot or fear being shot.
    2. If AI sees that the player has made no moves the aim would be to get within distance - be at a 90 degree angle and shoot as much as it can.
    3. If AI sees that the player made only 1 move we also know where to aim for and shoot.