Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

[NEED HELP] My Project Won't Open in Unity Hub

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by BuzzardRaze765, Mar 29, 2019.

  1. BuzzardRaze765

    BuzzardRaze765

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    I'm trying to open a project with Older version of Unity via Unity Hub but it seems like it won't Open the project like, really long time i have to wait. anybody know why?
     
  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2,784
    Which Unity Hub, 1.6 or 2 beta?

    Did you try opening it directly in Unity?
     
  3. BuzzardRaze765

    BuzzardRaze765

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    1.6
     
  4. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    382
    Hi @BuzzardRaze765,

    I have a number of questions regarding your issue:
    - What version of Unity are you trying to open your project with
    - Did you locate this version in your Hub?
    - Are you opening a project that was created with a different version than the one in question 1?

    In any case if you send us a bug report (accessible through the Hub's tray menu) we will have access to your logs and will be able to investigate further.

    Thanks!
     
  5. BuzzardRaze765

    BuzzardRaze765

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    -5.6.7
    -Yes, it's already in Hub
    -The Project was also in 5.6.7
     
  6. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    382
    Ok, I don't see any possible explanation from this information. If you submitted a bug could you post the case number here so we can follow up on this thread as well?
     
  7. Surreal

    Surreal

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    20
    I'm having the same issue with Unity 2019.1.3f1 trying to open a Unity 5.61 project -- it just ignores the entry or tells me that version of Unity is not installed (as an aside it is, but not in the Hub). I just want to import the project, this is absurd.

    And I'm sorry -- but forcing the Project Open dialog to the Hub -- and I've been using Unity since version 3 -- is truly mind boggling. Yes, some flows would be multi-version and get help from this -- but this is NOT helpful when I'm sitting here for an hour trying to make a project load into the latest unity version
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2019
    kevdome3000 and oliveperkins like this.
  8. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2,784
    You don't need the Hub to use Unity 5.61; consequently you don't need to add your project to the Hub to work on it. Just start Unity 5.61 and then load your project.
     
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.
  9. Surreal

    Surreal

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    20
    my need was to open the Unity 5.6.1 project in Unity 2019. I would not be posting here if I could just open the project in Unity. The point is as designed, the Hub makes it impossible to understand what to do -- you are just stuck looking at the project and unable to load it. You then go to new project, Project Open, and back to the hub dialog. You want to throw the computer out the window. I uninstalled it, and loaded the project into 2019 the usual way.
     
  10. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2,784
    Once you have added the project to the list, you need to choose what version of Unity you want to use with it in the drop down menu in the "Unity version" column..

    I wouldn't recommend upgrading a 5.6 project in 2019 though.
     
    AnilND likes this.
  11. jonc113

    jonc113

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Just adding my 2 cents...

    I had an old project (5.6) I wanted to open, but it said my version needed to be reactivated, but would not allow me to sign in. I had launched it via Unity Hub. Just to try, I opened it directly - and then I was able to sign in and reactivate it!
     
  12. jertte

    jertte

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Inside Unity Hub, There is a unity version column, click the drop-down arrow and choose the version you want. this should fix the problem
     
  13. unity_ZK86xOJa1INaDg

    unity_ZK86xOJa1INaDg

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I thought I was the only one with this issue. Unity hub wont open my project it just kinda hangs then closes. If I go into my scenes folder it opens just fine.
     
  14. marcindulak

    marcindulak

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    3
  15. NicorSoftware

    NicorSoftware

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    Same problem here.
    Created a project last night with Unity Hub 2.1.0, saved it, went to open it this morning and not listed.
    Clicked on Add, went to the existing folder of project, selected it and still not shown.

    Created a new project, saved it, check Unity Hub project was shown, exited Unity Hub, went back to Unity Hub and the new project was not shown.

    Both projects are on local HD in folder c:\users\<username>\

    I can't even start just the Editor 2019.2.3f1, it takes me to Unity Hub
    --------------------
    Chatting with support ...
    Turns out that i had to kill the background hub and restart with admin permissions.
    Then the one project showed and was able to go back and add the other to hub.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
  16. marcindulak

    marcindulak

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I'm running Unity inside of virtualbox. Apparently Unity has problems opening projects stored in virtualbox shared folder. Moving the source directory of the project to be importd outside of the virtualbox shared folder allows the import to proceed.
     
  17. marcindulak

    marcindulak

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Specifically, the problem seems related to the folder containing the source of the project having "Read-only" attribute set, which resets itself https://appuals.com/how-to-fix-folder-keeps-reverting-to-read-only-on-windows-10/
     
  18. conceptfac

    conceptfac

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    I every use this but now is just ignoring this option and opening my old projects in newer version even "Unity Version" setted to original old unity version
     
  19. rosco_y

    rosco_y

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    This happens to me when I already have the project open in another Virtual Desktop--that is, the project is already open and I don't realize it.