Search Unity

Need Help :( MLAPI Player Movements | Networking

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by Pathfinder007_ZA, Aug 5, 2021.

1. Pathfinder007_ZA

Pathfinder007_ZA

Hi all
    Hope you doing well.

In the summer i started coding a 2D MMORPG in Java, however after countless hours of developing my own game engine i decided to move over to unity.

I am still a beginner so i tackled some beginner networking projects. However i ran into a problem understanding how MLAPI works, specifically client player movement. I followed the Getting started with MLAPI which teaches you the basics.

Could someone please help me understand how MLAPI networking works, my goal is to create a server sides game where by a client request changes from the server with the use of SERVER RPC. My first step id like to learn is client player movement, using WASD. Please help me understand this code so i can change the movement mechanics to WASD so i could move forward ;(
    Ive triend multiple different methods, i can get the server player to move perfectly however the networking part really messing me up.

Code (CSharp):
    1. HelloWorldManager:
    3. using MLAPI;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    6. namespace HelloWorld
    7. {
    8. public class HelloWorldManager : MonoBehaviour
    9. {
    10. void OnGUI()
    11. {
    12. GUILayout.BeginArea(new Rect(10, 10, 300, 300));
    13. if (!NetworkManager.Singleton.IsClient && !NetworkManager.Singleton.IsServer)
    14. {
    15. StartButtons();
    16. }
    17. else
    18. {
    19. StatusLabels();
    21. SubmitNewPosition();
    22. }
    24. GUILayout.EndArea();
    25. }
    27. // NetworkManager implements the singleton pattern as it declares its singleton named Singleton. This is defined when the //MonoBehaviour is enabled. This component also contains very useful properties, such as IsClient, IsServer, and IsLocalClient.