Search Unity

Need help making decision

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Euge, Mar 16, 2012.

1. Euge

Euge

Hello,

I'm a long time Flash developer, thinking about a switch to Unity. I know that this has probably been asked many times before, but what difficulties I might face? Here's the list I made:

Strengths
    • Quick development time for 3D games.
    • Various already implemented often used features like physics, multithreading, resource management.
    • Support of maya and 3dmax (.max) models.
    • Low price.
    • Requires less proficient developer team.
    • Crossplatform.

Weaknesses
    • Small community, exotic for major game developers.
    • Somewhat inflexible. You cannot modify its core or tweak some features you may require at low level. Source code for renderer is unavailable.
    • Poor networking support.
    • Doesn’t work with version control.
    • Requires good knowledge and usage experience of their already implemented library.
    • No 2D support. Can only be emulated using fixed angle camera with 3D models and/or flat plates with animated textures.
    • Very poor GUI support. It is known problem for almost every game development tool.
    • Requires bigger team for developing game from scratch.
    • Requires more complicated game resources and assets since almost all of them should be 3D.
    • However even if Unity project is crossplatform it requires tweaking for each platform especially if it is mobile platform.
    • Compiled projects are not as fast as C++ or other lower level language 3D game written by professional team.

Opportunities
    Well suitable for various game genres: platformer, racing, physic, shooter, adventure. Some parts of games are already implemented so Unity needs more game design and assets than programming. Output can be exceptionally good with less efforts than using 3D game engines like OGRE or writing game from scratch.