Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help getting realistic billiard break simulation

Discussion in 'Physics' started by EliJNemer, Sep 2, 2019.

1. EliJNemer

EliJNemer

Hi,

I have been using Unity for 2 months now, in the past 10 days i have been working on a project to simulate a realistic billiard game in 3D. The part that i am having trouble with is the break at the start of the game when the balls are racked up.

The scenario is such: i have the cue ball and the other balls racked up. i give the cue ball an initial angular velocity to strike the rack with a good amount of energy. what happens next is that the balls all move in the same direction instead of splitting apart in different directions.

They are closely packed so i would imaging that they would kind of act as a single body breaking apart. not many small bodies. this is where i think the problem is. i have tried many different combinations of friction bounciness and all of the sort. i have used PhysX and the new Unity Physics which did give me better results but i am still not able to produce the desired outcome. i have tried to play with the tensor settings of each ball in the triangluar position. making the center ones heavier than the outside ones to try to get the same effect. but i didnt want to go that way because it still didnt allow for the best realism. it seems to me that it is a question of conservation of energy or a question of clustered bodies or both. if someone could help shed some light, it would be of much help.

i have attached the pictures of the simulation and properties i have used in my dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7178hstk3iolsgc/Properties And Simulation Pics.zip?dl=0

2. knobblez

knobblez