Search Unity

Need help: 480 Point Lights runs too lagging in DK2

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by torson, Apr 8, 2015.

1. torson

torson

Hi,
    Thank you for reading this,
    I am an absolutely beginner in Unity, I started to learn unity5 two weeks ago and I really have fun in learning this excellent engine!

I am a uni student and currently doing a VR project:
    Creating the Japanese artist Yayo Kusama's ''infinity room" in Unity and gonna use Oculus DK2 to experience it in the virtual world.

If you would like to know what does it look like, here is the link to Kusama's infinity room :

I have been trying to create the lights effect ( attached screenshots ) but it seems doesn't run well in my 2013 macbook pro retina. It is too laggy when I run this scene in Oculus ! And it runs butter-smooth when I turn all 480 point lights off .
    Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 10.25.38 pm.png

Will the particle system helps? I just watched a tutorial but didn't figure out how to create one like this

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 10.39.41 pm.png

Could anyone please give me some insights in creating this effect?
    It will be much appreciated.

Tommy

2. El Maxo

El Maxo

Lighting in games is quite an expensive thing, just a quick question what frame rate are you running on that scene with the lights tunred off, then we cat start moving from there-

3. wetcircuit

wetcircuit

Lights in 3D are among the most resource-intensive things you can add to a 3D scene.... Particles is definitely the way to go, since there are no mesh objects in your scene that actually need to be lit.

4. TheSniperFan

TheSniperFan

I think I know how to go about this, but you'll need to answer a question first:
    How big is that room supposed to be?
    Not how large it should feel, but how much the player is actually supposed to be able to walk in there?

5. El Maxo

El Maxo

could you use light producing small spheres?

6. torson

torson