Search Unity

Need guidance for an online multiplayer turn based game

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by sisko89, Mar 24, 2019.

1. sisko89

sisko89

Hello!

My name is Andrés, I'm new to unity and the forums, nice to meet you all!

To give some context, I've been working as a web developer for many years so I'm perfectly comfortable with coding. Recently, I decided to change career and become a game developer / designer, it's a long journey so right now I care more about learning and understanding rather than finishing my game.
    Regarding Unity, all the experience I have is following a tutorial to make an arkanoid clone and from there I jumped straight to what, if everything goes well, will be my first published game.

The idea is something like final fantasy tactics, but 100% player vs player. With very complex and unique combat mechanics, I put a lot of thought into that.

So I purchased a turn based framework and started working from there, it's going slow because I have to learn everything from scratch, but overall is going well and I'm learning a lot on Unity and C#. All good.

But when I started researching on how to make it online multiplayer, I felt completely lost and overwhelmed. I read there are many options available like unet, photon and some more, but I have no idea which one is right for my game, and the more I look into it the more confused I become. What makes it even worse is that most tutorials I find on the topic seems to be outdated, with people commenting this and that got deprecated, and so on...
    This seems to be a very sensitive issue so I'd like to get it right from the start. I know I'll have to study a lot, but if anyone can point me on the right direction that would help me a lot.

This is what I'm trying to do: