Search Unity

Need an easy fix for creating a moving player for oculus go (asset?)

Discussion in 'VR' started by JessTaylor90, Apr 24, 2019.

1. JessTaylor90

JessTaylor90

Hi all,

I've been trying to get the OVR player controller working for ages and am at the end of my tether. I haven't been able to find any tutorials that have helped; my next move, unless someone has a better solution, is to follow along a tutorial and try and make my player controller from scratch. As someone with little scripting experience, I'd rather avoid this if possible.

I'm also looking at 'Easy Input for Gear VR and Oculus Go' on the asset store. Has anyone used this? All I want is a character that will be able to move around my scene using the oculus go remote - if you're used this, will it do the trick? Or does anyone have any other suggestions/assets/tutorials they can recommend?

Again I have very little scripting experience, so tutorials that assume a lot of knowledge or assets that require a lot of fiddling with make me a bit wary.

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

You just want basic teleporting? I've implemented it in a Go project, which you can see here.

If that's what you're looking for, I can help you get that going.

Sibu_Zangqa likes this.
  3. max-louw

max-louw

Hey Schneider21,

This is exactly what im looking for but i am using the Oculus Rift. Is this compatible?

Kind Regards,

Max

4. Schneider21

Schneider21

The concept is the same, sure.

I started with this repo and modified a few things to suit my needs. I jacked the distance way up to like 25m and removed the adjustable distance, as my Go controller seems super sketchy with the touchpad input. I also added a toggle for teleport mode to allow other interactive modes like when you're in a menu. And of course, made everything red.

Let me know if you have questions!

5. JessTaylor90

JessTaylor90