Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Need Advice & Help from Texture Artists!!!

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by DyvineValentine, Sep 23, 2014.

1. DyvineValentine

DyvineValentine

Alright so I've been texturing for my models for a few months now but i can never get them to look realistic in Unity. I use Blender and Gimp,my process for creating textures is
    1. After creating models i UV unwrap
    2. Head into gimp and begin painting textures and such on the UV
    3. Sometimes create additional textures for UV such as A.O(ambient occlusion)
    4. save it then open unity and insert textures on models
    Im about to texture the inside and outside of a house i need to get these things right so i can have a good asset for me and my team's game were creating,so a few questions i have are
    1. Whats the steps to creating realistic textures? i understand you'll need Specular,Normal,Diffuse.
    2. Do i need to create all those maps to the UV or to the original textures

2. Dustin-Horne

Dustin-Horne

It's not just about the texture, it's about the shaders as well. It's kind of a loaded question as it totally depends on what kind of material you're trying to represent. Physically based materials are likely going to give you the most "realistic" look, at least for inorganics, but may be more expensive to render. You also may or may not need some maps like AO.