Search Unity

Need advice from someone more experienced with Physics regarding performance

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Belleal, Sep 28, 2018.

1. Belleal

Belleal

Hello guys, I've been working for a while on my game Masters of Puzzle. For some time now I am fighting with a nasty performance problem in the Physics department especially with the larger puzzle tile sets (i.e. 1000 tiles and above). The issue is easiest to observe when the tiles are first packed into the box together. Check this out:

Packed Tiles.PNG Profiler 1.PNG Profiler 2.PNG

As you can see most of the calculating power is going into physics, but I am not experienced enough with this area to pick an angle to start optimizing.

The structure of each puzzle tile is essentially a single mesh with a compound collider:
    Tile Colliders 1.PNG Tile Colliders 2.PNG
    There are no triggers or any other event handlers related to physics. Therefore I assume the overhead here comes strictly from Unity native processes handling my configuration of objects.

I know this is a terribly specific situation to my game, but I will appreciate any suggestion on where to start looking for optimization on solving this. I am not afraid to read or dig in deeply, I just don't have an idea what to look for.

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. Edy

Edy

First things that come to my mind:
    • Try Unity 2018.3 (currently in beta). Physics engine has been upgraded and reported to be more efficient in some situations.
    • Play with the Physics options (Edit > Projects Settings > Physics), specially: Sleep Threshold, Enable Adaptative Force, Contacts Generation, Broadphase Type.
    • Use a single box collider per tile, at least while they're packed into the box. You may keep the compound collider disabled in this situation, then switch to it if the situation requires such precise collisions (i.e. if taken out of the box).
    Hope this helps!

3. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape