Search Unity

Need advice for implementing Ai Actions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MarcoMeter, Jan 27, 2016.

1. MarcoMeter

MarcoMeter

Hello everybody,

I'm currently implementing ai players for my hobby project called BRO. Check out these two short videos in order to get a good sense about the gameplay:

Video A

Video B

Basically BRO is a multiplayer game (networking is done with Photon Bolt) with up to 8 players. The player who is in possession of the ball is chased by a drifting like beast (beast gets more accurate and faster over time until it kills someone). In order to survive you have to pass the ball to another player. Last man standing wins the match. The actions for the human players are passing the ball, moving and blinking (teleporting to any position, if the ability is not on cooldown).

This is my very first project dealing with implementing complex ai. My goal is to implement the computer players contending each other. I don't have any issues with decision making approaches such as decision trees, state machines, neural nets, and so on. I rather experience a lack of achieving applicable actions for the ai entities.

I would really appreciate some advice concerning implementing some specific actions.

At first, one question:
    1. When should the ai behavior make a new decision?
    Well, so far I considered events (e.g. possession of the ball changed) and maybe some kind of scheduling. Like check for a new decision every second. But if it comes to movement, finding a new spot to go to every second doesn't really feel right. Especially because I couldn't figure out some proper algorithms to specify such spots yet. A misbehavior could end up in players kind of moving in some certain radius.

And now about actions:

Movement is done with Unity's NavMesh.

1. If the ai player is not in possession of the ball, move to open space.