Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Need advice about making a game.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Elektron_111, Mar 11, 2023.

1. Elektron_111

Elektron_111

Hello everyone,

Like the title states I just need some advice pointing me in the right direction. I want to know which programming language would be the best fit for the game I'm trying to make. I have almost no programming knowledge other than the basics that I have learned in school some years ago. On my own I started learning python and it seems to be going well, but I was told that I shouldn't use or it's not recommended for games. So I was pointed to Unity.

For a while I wanted to make a game out of the sport of biathlon. For those who don't know what what biathlon is, it's a sport that combines cross country skiing and rifle shooting. You have prone and standing shoots which athlete needs to take. Depending on the discipline they have to take them several times. A missed shot means either a penalty loop or a one minute added time penalty. Back to the game. I want my game to be a manager type game, where you can either create your own club or manage a pre-existing one as well as manage a national team. So there would be no need for any tactics or anything similar like this. You will get to chose the best athletes to represent your team against the rest based on their stats/for/fatigue/injuries...