Search Unity

Showcase Need a good 2D line segment intersector? Grab it while it's hot.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by orionsyndrome, Sep 27, 2022.

1. orionsyndrome

orionsyndrome

Code is tl;dr at the bottom

It's a relatively simple thing (for most of us anyway) but here I've solved it somewhat unorthodoxly. And I'm thinking wow this should come bundled with Unity, with how complete it turned out, at least in 2D.

Let's try something different: 2D line intersection via homogeneous coordinates.

Hey I'm not an expert actually, but I know about homogeneous coordinates from working with barycentric coordinates, which are also homogeneous (you get them in HitInfo from Raycast for example). This is a pretty opaque topic in (common) geometry, one I won't bother you too much with (and psh I don't know what I'm talking about anyway), but what I know is that homogeneous coordinates live in a different space compared to Cartesian, where they nearly always satisfy some internally binding rule (i.e. you can usually scale them uniformly and this won't change their meaning, which is kind of a weird "zooming" property for a coordinate system). This gives them some unique properties which is why they were invented in the first place.

Anyway, turns out you can intersect lines in 2D by using them and it's as easy as peanuts. It's not so easy to find an example though, so I had to scour through numpy freaks and AI research (sarcasm: yummy, my favorite activities). But after about a day, I got it working without too much hassle, and I wish you all to never have to go through that.

So what it's all about? Well, you start by defining two lines with 2D points (a1, a2) and (b1, b2). So four points in total. Then you augment the coordinates by appending 1 as the third coordinate, as if they were in 3D, and whoa, we just got our homogeneous coordinates. Sounds so stupid and useless.