Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

NavMeshAgent.Warp() not working

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by ics_de, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. ics_de

    ics_de

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    So this is my code for spawning an AI car. I am using Warp() to avoid the "not detecting navmesh" error. However, when it spawns I get the error "SetDestination can only be called on an active agent that has been placed on a NavMesh". As you may see, I've tried to place it, but it doesen't seem to work. Any idea?

    upload_2019-2-6_18-16-49.png
     
  2. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    6,272
    You could just spawn it at hit.position, as that's on the navmesh. Then you don't have to warp it.
     
  3. ics_de

    ics_de

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    I've tried out, but I keep getting the same error :/
     
  4. ics_de

    ics_de

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Also, I've tried a lot of suggestions of other threads similar to this one :/
     
  5. abuklea

    abuklea

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Hi @Uri677 .. same issue here. Did you find a solution?
     
  6. ics_de

    ics_de

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Nope, just left aside the project :(
     
  7. ics_de

    ics_de

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Hey, so I've been progressing in ohter projects and found out that this doesn't happen if your game / NavMeshAgents aren't too small!
     
    eterlan likes this.
  8. Shiiv

    Shiiv

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Wow thanks a lot for this information !
    I just spent like 4 hours on a bug in my project, monsters randomly not spawning where they should -.-
    In the end i used NavMeshAgent.warp instead of directly modifying the transform.position.
    And before using the warp, i modify the agent radius to a bigger one (0.5f in my case), and then switch it back to the actual value after the successful warp :eek:
    Don't know why there is so little information about this "bug" (i guess it is), i did not find anything though you saved what ever is left of my night :,D
    Thanks again :)
     
  9. ics_de

    ics_de

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    You're welcome! I actually stumble upon this problem every single time I use navmeshes, so save a link to this thread or smth for future use! :)

    I hope Unity work on it cuz it's really unintuitive to solve, tbh.
     
  10. charanchaganti

    charanchaganti

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    I also changed the radius to 0.5f but I am getting the same error

    I have been stuck on this issue since 4 dyas while I was doi g other things plz suggest