Search Unity

NavMeshAgent size problem

Discussion in 'AI & Navigation Previews' started by PhilSA, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,599
    I have noticed a problem with NavMeshAgents in 5.6b6 and b9. The radiuses and heights of the agents do not update properly in NavMeshAgent instances; they only seem to affect the actual baking of the navmesh. Case in point:


    This creates problems for avoidance of other agents. There is lots of inter-penetration between agents, because they all think their radius is the default 0.5.

    I've also noticed that in the new NavmeshComponents examples project, in the scene "1_multiple_agent_sizes", they avoid this problem by using the super-bad-and-dangerous practice of scaling the agent GameObjects directly to fit the agent sizes that they have entered in the "Agents" panel, which is not a good solution in most real-life scenarios.

    Is there a fix (or a decent workaround (or something I didn't understand correctly)) for this?
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2017
  2. xAvatarchikx

    xAvatarchikx

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    Hello! Have you found a solution to this problem?
     
  3. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,599
    it appears to be fixed in the latest patches of 5.6.1 according to the release notes
     
  4. xAvatarchikx

    xAvatarchikx

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    I tested in assemblies 2017.1.0b9 5.6.1p3, a behavior similar to you .. maybe you need to fix a new patch 5.6.1p4, but there I did not see anything about ai
     
  5. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,599
    actually... I thought I saw it in the patch releases at some point, but now I can't find it anymore. Maybe I imagined it
     
  6. krides

    krides

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    38
    I'm having the same problem years later. Has anyone figured out what to do about this?
     
  7. DisCr

    DisCr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    NavMesh Agent size can be changed in the inspector window.
     
    adriant likes this.
unityunity