Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. The 2022.2 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.2 feature highlights.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We are updating our Terms of Service for all Unity subscription plans, effective October 13, 2022, to create a more streamlined, user-friendly set of terms. Please review them here: unity.com/legal/terms-of-service.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Submit bug reports tagged with #Beta2022Win_Unity when you encounter unknown issues while testing the 2022.2 betas for a chance to win a year of Unity Pro. For more information, have a look at our Beta Sweepstakes Announcement.

NavMeshAgent size problem

Discussion in 'AI & Navigation Previews' started by PhilSA, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,926
    I have noticed a problem with NavMeshAgents in 5.6b6 and b9. The radiuses and heights of the agents do not update properly in NavMeshAgent instances; they only seem to affect the actual baking of the navmesh. Case in point:


    This creates problems for avoidance of other agents. There is lots of inter-penetration between agents, because they all think their radius is the default 0.5.

    I've also noticed that in the new NavmeshComponents examples project, in the scene "1_multiple_agent_sizes", they avoid this problem by using the super-bad-and-dangerous practice of scaling the agent GameObjects directly to fit the agent sizes that they have entered in the "Agents" panel, which is not a good solution in most real-life scenarios.

    Is there a fix (or a decent workaround (or something I didn't understand correctly)) for this?
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2017
  2. xAvatarchikx

    xAvatarchikx

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    69
    Hello! Have you found a solution to this problem?
     
  3. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,926
    it appears to be fixed in the latest patches of 5.6.1 according to the release notes
     
  4. xAvatarchikx

    xAvatarchikx

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    69
    I tested in assemblies 2017.1.0b9 5.6.1p3, a behavior similar to you .. maybe you need to fix a new patch 5.6.1p4, but there I did not see anything about ai
     
  5. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,926
    actually... I thought I saw it in the patch releases at some point, but now I can't find it anymore. Maybe I imagined it
     
  6. krides

    krides

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Posts:
    38
    I'm having the same problem years later. Has anyone figured out what to do about this?
     
  7. DisCr

    DisCr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    NavMesh Agent size can be changed in the inspector window.
     
    adriant likes this.
unityunity