Search Unity

Navigation / Movement in 3D space

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by 1druid1, Feb 3, 2016.

1. 1druid1

1druid1

Hi All

I am just new to Unity and programming but I have made my way through a lot of tutorials and have created a couple of basic games, 2D shooter / simple RTS game.

I am now looking into more advanced material and what I am currently try to do is creat a space based RTS game, sort of a mix between EVE and Homeworld and X3 Albion Prelude.

However moving objects in 2D is easy as you have a ground plane for your coordinates but for the life of me I just cant work out how to do 3D movements.

Any helpfull advice or tips on this area would be great, some examples from programmers who have already implemented this type of feature would be great.

Cheers

Druid

2. browne11

browne11

3D is actually much easier then 2d with Unity I found at first. Most of 2d I had to create all the movement and scripts for that functionality.

Unity has a bunch of scripts you can download in the standard assets package. I suggest downloading that and looking at it.

For 3d you need a terrain or a plane. The easiest way to start is use cubes and add mesh agents to them. Bake your terrain and attach some movement scripts to your cubes and mess around. You will learn a ton just doing that.

Youtube search : unity movement and you'll find a crap ton of stuff :)

3. 1druid1

1druid1

HI All

Still really struggling with this, just cant seem to find an answer but there seems to be a few Unity members who have created or are creating a space based RTS, so looking towards your knowledge for some help. It would be appreciated.

Cheers

Druid

4. pixxelbob

pixxelbob

Druid. There are plenty of examples of moving in 3D space.
    The only difference is you have three axis of movement instead of two.

Depending on if you're using physics for movement or you're just using fixed positioning. Methods you'll be interested in are:

Transform.Translate(x,y,z);