Search Unity

My WIP VG Music Album

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Ishzonur, Jun 18, 2012.

1. Ishzonur

Ishzonur

2. KheltonHeadley

KheltonHeadley

First song needs work on timing and how powerful certain things are. Second song is just everywhere. Third is good, reminds me of pokemon but it needs a few fixes here and there. Forth is like first, overpowering instruments. Also the melody doesn't sound right. Finally the last one just doesn't sound right. I think you need to make some music lessons and study composition, it seems like you are just using rrandom notes and winging it.

3. JamesLeeNZ

JamesLeeNZ

I take it youve had no formal music training?

Sounds like a bunch of presets with the odd assortment of random notes thrown in. No progression, no structure, no melody

I guess the most interesting game should be so lucky.

4. Ishzonur

Ishzonur

No, I don't know much about compisition, I listen by ear. I'm new and self-taught.

It's not presets, btw.

Edit: Some people thought the music was fine. But I couldn't give it to them because the album will be finished before their game will. They are still planning, have some concept art and story but nothing programmed.

I'm not completely melody blind, or am I? I just listen to it until I think it's alright.

Edit 2: I forgot to say in OP that I am seeking 2D games, because 3D games use orchestral stuff mostly.

Last edited: Jun 18, 2012
  5. KheltonHeadley

KheltonHeadley

It doesn't sound right, sorry but you need to work on it some more. I don't think people would want those in their games.

6. JamesLeeNZ

JamesLeeNZ

Did these people either know you personally? Some people don't like to give realistic feedback. Being brutally honest can be quite mean, but it helps no-one.