Search Unity

Feedback My week with DOTS

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Ferazel, May 25, 2019.

1. Ferazel

Ferazel

This post is meant for the Unity devs looking for user feedback, but if anyone else has feedback or notes on the problems discussed feel free.

I have about 9 years of programming experience with Unity now. I have shipped titles small and large. I would rate my programmer skill as above average (not amazing, but definitely not the worst). One of the perks my company does is a week game jam of sorts. This year I decided was the year to take a stab into the latest ECS APIs (preview 0.0.12-preview30) to see if I could get a handle on the concept and become an advocate for it in the future.

My game was a 2D isometric ant simulator (something I felt would be well suited for ECS) where each ant would be an entity and we would have basic pathfinding to find food and return to the ant hill. Luckily one of my co-workers was willing to take the deep plunge with me and helped me with the project. We had no other Unity resources or mechanics other than what we were able to find online and the sample repository.

First the good!
    1. When ECS works, it REALLY works. I can definitely see the future in this regard for game logic iterating over multiple entities. Creating systems that managed the death mechanics of all of the entities in the world so that we could do cool things like fade out or other behavior was really powerful.
    2. Splitting the data away from behavior. This was a wonderful change of pace from the OOP world we live in. I really appreciated the way that ECS helped really isolate behavior in a new way.
    3. The samples have a lot of good fundamental data in them to get up and running. They were often a big resource for us, especially as we were getting started.