Search Unity

Question my vs code is trying to install . net and failing for some reason

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B, Aug 7, 2023.

  1. unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2022
    Posts:
    35
    when i opened my project today and started coding i noticed that the thing that auto completes your code wasnt there and that my vs code tried to install . net and it failed. i dont know why did it try to do that but now i have a problem.

    i have tried to install .net manually but nope, that doesnt work. heres the error message that comes out, have you guys any idea on how to fix this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    5,813
  3. unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2022
    Posts:
    35
  4. sailro

    sailro

    Microsoft

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    I think this is not related to what is supported by Unity, but rather a required dependency from your current VSCode extensions.

    Like if you are using the new Unity extension in preview, the C# Dev Kit is required. And C# Dev Kit relies on the .NET Runtime Acquisition VS Code extension to get the runtime. (So those extensions need the .NET runtime for their own usage, we are not talking here about the Unity side of things).

    I think you should have a look at existing issues or create a new issue here:
    Issues · microsoft/vscode-dotnettools (github.com)

    Thanks!
     
  5. unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2022
    Posts:
    35
    it finally hit me well that a pop up appears and it links me this https://github.com/dotnet/vscode-do...leshooting-runtime.md#install-script-timeouts
    i didnt process it before for some reason (im dumb) and i think it could help but i dont know what can i do, what do i do with this?
     
  6. sailro

    sailro

    Microsoft

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    In VSCode, go to File/Preferences/Settings, then change the timeout value from 120 to 1200 to give you 20 minutes instead of 2 minutes to download the SDK:

    upload_2023-8-10_21-29-29.png

    Close VSCode / re-run
     
  7. unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    unity_005946E12C5F7D78583B

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2022
    Posts:
    35
    forget about it it worked
     
  8. sailro

    sailro

    Microsoft

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Posts:
    167
    Great!