Search Unity

My Story Of Success And The Emotional Roller Coaster That Came With It

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by brilliantgames, Sep 23, 2016.

1. brilliantgames

brilliantgames

It's been a long time since I have been on these forums, but I wanted to share my experiences over the past years in game development. I've been developing in Unity full time for near 5 years now, and up until only recently I had never really tried to go completely independent. After 4 years of doing contract work and selling assets on the Asset Store, I decided to take advantage of the relatively empty market for VR, specifically the HTC Vive.

Events Leading Up
    It was around April of this year that I decided to bite the bullet and go completely independent in the VR market. Now the funny thing is, I had never actually tried VR before, but I decided to go ahead and order an HTC Vive. It wasn't until June that received it, due to finishing contract work as well as the massive amount of time it took to be shipped to me, but I finally had the unit. I immediately fell in love with the unit and saw the massive potential. I started doing a few experiments with ideas and eventually came up with a concept and title. The Last Sniper VR.

The Last Sniper VR is a WW2 based shooter with a highlight on playing the role of a sniper. I developed most of the basic mechanics and one map and decided it was ready for Steam greenlight. To my surprise it did very well on greenlight and rose up the ranks to #43 before it was greenlite. I was confident at that point the game would pay off, but I still had no idea what the future of this game lay in store.

The Release