Search Unity

My silly little 2D Mining game experiment

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Nomad72, May 7, 2012.

1. Nomad72

Nomad72

Important note: I am a beginner game developer, and this represents my very first attempt at anything that is not based on a tutorial. Basically, I wanted to try and create something simple as a learning experience, and to see whether I could accomplish anything where I wasn't following somebody else's work.

Also, my artistic skills can be summed up by the word ZERO. My focus was/is on learning the programming side of things, so please forgive the rudimentary graphics.

I've had to talk myself into posting this - although I've learned an awful lot from this so far and have had to really struggle for 3 months or so to get to this point, I worry that more experienced people will just laugh at my "skills" :D However, I've realized that I could probably benefit from constructive criticism at this point.

Anyway, onto the "game". It's a pretty simple game: acquire wealth by finding and mining different gems. You start with very poor equipment, so earning enough money to upgrade things like your lantern, pick and "mineral holding bag" is your first priority. I won't say too much more here because there is a fairly detailed set of instructions which pops up near the beginning. I will say that things only really get going once you've managed to buy and place an elevator, so please try and play long enough for that at least :D

At the moment my little mining character is represented by a very detailed plain white square, and the mining store (where you can sell your mineral haul and buy or upgrade equipment) is represented by a stunning white circle. Please don't let this put you off, though... the game mechanics are there.

Oh, on most menus, moving the mouse cursor over an icon will provide some info on the item represented by the cursor.

Movement keys are standard WASD for movement, and SPACE for digging.