Search Unity

My jump script wont work.

Discussion in '2D' started by Dino730_, Jan 4, 2021.

1. Dino730_

Dino730_

I'm pretty new to unity so I usually just follow tutorials to from YouTubers. This script is supposed to tell unity that when I "Jump" (press space) It makes me jump but when I go in play mode nothing happens. Here is my script. Another problem is that since I'm so new I don't know where on the internet to look for help so I hope this works and one of you Unity pros can fix this for me.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour{
    7.     public CharacterController2D controller;
    9.     public float runSpeed = 40f;
    11.     float horizontalMove = 0f;
    12.     bool jump = false;
    14.     // Update is called once per frame
    15.     void Update()
    16.     {
    17.         horizontalMove = Input.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal") * runSpeed;
    19.         if (Input.GetButtonDown("Jump"))
    20.         {
    21.             jump = true;
    22.         }
    23.     }
    25.     void FixedUpdate () //FixedUpdate happens a specific time every second
    26.     {
    27.         controller.Move(horizontalMove * Time.fixedDeltaTime, false, jump);
    28.         jump = false;
    29.     }
    30. }

Last edited: Jan 6, 2021
  2. Cornysam

Cornysam

1st: You should post your code in code tags (see the ribbon before you post, or edit your post and change it).
    2nd: You are setting the jump bool to true when you press space, but you are making jump = false every time FixedUpdate runs (a lot).
    3rd: You havent defined what happens when jump = true. Once it becomes true something should happen.