Search Unity

Unity's version control component has been upgraded to Plastic SCM.

My Experiences With Collaborate

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by sbob322, Aug 23, 2016.

1. sbob322

sbob322

Hello I am a developer at a small studio and we have recently started using collaborate. It has been about two weeks now so giving my first impressions of it. We have a couple of projects that we have shifted over to it for different reasons.

We made the decision to shift the first project over due to multiple artists needing to place models into the scene and make changes repeatedly. It has worked great for that as long as no one makes changes to the scene while someone else is. When we got it another programmer and I messed around with working on the same script and was pleasantly surprised at how well it handled merging our changes.

After shifting a project over to collaborate we have also started a prototype that is completely maintained by collaborate. Considering that its a small project and we haven't been pushing anything too far on it that project has been fairly smooth.

One weird thing we have experienced is that when we started we were still using gitlab and source tree to maintain another source control just in case. But in the middle of last week all of the projects we have on collaborate stopped being noticed by that source control. We have yet to really look into this but we intend to.

List of things we want
    branching
    easier reverting
    allow multiple people to work in same scene
    display differences in a conflict better

quixotic, AdamKane and holliebuckets like this.
  2. sbob322

sbob322