Search Unity

Feedback My experience with netcode for GameObjects thus far

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by MaskedMouse, Mar 24, 2022.

1. MaskedMouse

MaskedMouse

Background
    I'm a developer for about 7-8 years. I got a bachelor degree in IT. My study was called "Game Technology and Production". Most of my experience is in XR and UGUI due to my daily job.
    So as a challenge I started development of a hobby project. A multiplayer Tower Defense game using Netcode for GameObjects. I have no experience with other multiplayer API such as Mirror. So I wouldn't be able to compare them in terms of ease of use.

The network manager
    The singleton pattern. Everytime you want to access anything you have to write
    NetworkManager.Singleton

Want to access the NetworkSceneManager?
    NetworkManager.Singleton.SceneManager.LoadScene

It would've been easier if the
    NetworkManager
    was a static class and the configuration of it in the inspector as a component that communicates with the static
    NetworkManager
    class.
    That way you can write
    NetworkManager.StartServer()

NetworkSceneManager.LoadScene
    just like many other Unity based API.
    If you need the MonoBehaviour lifetime of Unity that could be done in a proxy component instantiated at the start of the server.

Switching scenes
    I've setup a Main Menu and Lobby UI using UI Toolkit. Selecting multiplayer and a submenu 'Host' I start the NetworkManager server and switch the scene to the Lobby Scene.