Search Unity

My email to Unity (about pricing)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by casperjeff, Jun 4, 2014.

1. casperjeff

casperjeff

(sent this through their contact form)

Unity Folks,

First of all, I want to thank you for the awesome product you have developed and continue to support. I am amazed every day at the ease of use and workflow niceties that Unity offers - and it has most assuredly made my game development experience more enjoyable and less stressful!

While I expect no official response or action to this email - (I’m sure you have plenty of bigger fish to fry), I thought I’d drop you a line and express what an ‘average’? indie developer has to consider when dealing with licenses.

I’ve been using Unity on and off for about 4 years? now. I’m using a free Unity license although for a period of time when I was working for a small game studio, I was able to use the pro version for about 12 months.

I’m near to completing my first mobile game (http://www.indiedb.com/games/timetracer) and am soon about to tackle some final polish and optimization. I’m a true ‘indie’, working completely on my own - I’m a decent coder that buys art/music assets as necessary.

What I REALLY need is a pro-unity license. I need it for profiling. There is simply no easy way for me to track down un-obvious performance bottlenecks or frame-rate stutters without a good profiler (which Unity HAS and I was able to enjoy when I had a Pro license). I also need it for full screen and glow effects. One element of my game is ‘time stopping’ as well as time warping - and NOT having full screen effects for these kinda sucks. yes - I could ‘fake’ something with some effort - and will probably have to try to do so. Also - I need it for glow effects. My game is primarily set in space with dark environments - and having proper glow effects for weapons, enemies, etc would really set it apart. Trying to use complex particle effects to simulate these is getting tiresome and costly.