Search Unity

My character model distorted in Mechamin

Discussion in 'Animation' started by JakeT, Aug 19, 2014.

1. JakeT

JakeT

I'm tying to rig my character models using the Humanoid Animation Type in Mechanim. When I have them imported normally, all of my legacy animations work fine including facial animation, etc. I am a Max novice, so I may really need a 3D modeler / Mechanim expert's help.

Normally, my character looks like this:
    upload_2014-8-19_13-41-52.png

But, when I change the rig Animation Type to Humanoid, my character gets completely DEFORMED at the hip and feet (the idle animation still plays, but the legs and feet are totally out of whack):
    upload_2014-8-19_13-42-13.png

I am exporting from Max as FXB, and I've tried a lot of different export settings.

Everything looks fine in the Mapping and Muscles setup:
    upload_2014-8-19_13-44-45.png
    upload_2014-8-19_13-45-4.png

I do get one error sometimes in the Rig settings in Unity that says something about the Bip01 SpineA having some rotation on it but I cant figure out if that has anything to do it. I tried changing the quality settings and maxed those out to 4 bones, etc., but that doesn't seem to change anything either. When Unity automatically assigns the Humanoid everything looks fine in Mechanim, but then distorts when I click Play in Unity and a Mechanim animation is applied.

Any ideas? I'll post the solution if I ever get to it!

Jake

Attached Files:

2. Mecanim-Dev

Mecanim-Dev

Hi jakeT,

can you send me a private pm with your fbx file attached, I will take a look and see what is going on.

Best regards,
    Sonny

3. Mecanim-Dev

Mecanim-Dev

So the warning was right: Bip01 SpineA having some rotation on it.

You have a in between bone that contain some animation, in this case it a huge -90 on one axis.
    A In between bone is a bone that is not part of the human mapping but have a human bone as parent and some human bone as a child.