Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

My cat changed my Rider settings and now code inspection doesn't work

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by sordidlist, Feb 28, 2021.

  1. sordidlist

    sordidlist

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    86
    I forgot to lock my screen and my cat sat on my laptop because it's warm. Rider had been closed down, so I re-opened it and a few things are different.

    1) I can see all the .meta files that used to be hidden although .meta doesn't appear to be a recognized file type under Settings -> Editor -> File Types
    2) Errors aren't highlighted although it says code analysis is enabled under Settings ->Editor -> Inspection Settings. Specifically, it says there are no errors in my project even though Unity says my script won't compile because of an error.

    I just updated Rider to a new version too so I'm not sure if that might play into this somehow, but I'd really appreciate any tips on how to revert these two changes. I've closed and reopened the editor and I've tried turning code analysis off and on again, but I don't know where else to go from here. Thanks!
     
  2. Johannski

    Johannski

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Posts:
    830
    For your first issue, it is probably just pressing this button to disable showing all files
    upload_2021-3-1_9-17-49.png

    For your second issue: Hm, did you open unity alongside, or just rider? Maybe clean and rebuild the solution?
    upload_2021-3-1_9-19-29.png

    Edit: Btw., I just love your thread title :D
     
    sordidlist likes this.
  3. George-Ing

    George-Ing

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    78
    This is my favorite ever thread title. Thank you.
     
    unity_AkGames and sordidlist like this.
  4. BrandyStarbrite

    BrandyStarbrite

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Posts:
    2,076
    Dude, that topic title.:D
    That cat.............is a genius.:eek:
     
    sordidlist likes this.
  5. MitchStan

    MitchStan

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    I’ve been part of this forum since 2006. Best thread title ever!
     
    T_Oliveira and sordidlist like this.
  6. sordidlist

    sordidlist

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    86
    Hah! I had to leave town (and my project) for a little bit but I'm back - thanks all for the tips and cat love!

    So, for whatever reason, my setup doesn't look like yours @Johannski

    upload_2021-3-10_17-44-45.png

    Yours shows "chunks-unity" where mine shows "Assets", and I don't get the same menu items you do. I'm doing some research on my own but I'm not entirely sure even how to describe the difference between our setups.

    Apologies if my Rider naivety is showing! My cat is clearly better at this than I am.
     
  7. Johannski

    Johannski

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Posts:
    830
    Oh, then maybe click the File System Dropdown and select Unity :)
    upload_2021-3-11_8-23-5.png
     
  8. sordidlist

    sordidlist

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    86
    Ah yeah I should have attached a shot of that too, I don't have "Unity" or "Solution" in that menu.

    upload_2021-3-11_18-26-25.png
     
  9. Johannski

    Johannski

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Posts:
    830
    Ah I think I see now what your cat did! It decided to open the asset folder with rider instead of the solution file in the parent folder. This way rider is more of a dumb file explorer in a way. So the solution is to open the solution file with rider :)
     
  10. Valjuin

    Valjuin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Posts:
    481
    Is this the new “My dog ate my homework”?
     
    BrandyStarbrite likes this.
  11. BrandyStarbrite

    BrandyStarbrite

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Posts:
    2,076
    Lol!:p
     
  12. DigitalChaotics

    DigitalChaotics

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Likely excuse! Riiiiight. Blame it on the cat.

    Unfortunately, I don't have any such excuse. My cats never get near my computer. Only a human. Me. :-(
     
  13. ScallyGames

    ScallyGames

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    For anyone finding this in the future, in my case inspection was behaving weirdly because it had the wrong code style settings activated. There is an action called "Code Style Scheme" and for me it was set to "Default" instead of "<Project>"
     
    Cathy_AKL likes this.
  14. Cathy_AKL

    Cathy_AKL

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2023
    Posts:
    3
    you saved my life. thanks :(