Search Unity

Muting Unity ads does not work.

Discussion in 'Unity Ads & User Acquisition' started by grozail, Mar 26, 2021.

1. grozail

grozail

First of all, I am not a game developer, but the end user (and software engineer by profession).
    The problem - I can't mute the Unity ads and cant control the volume.
    This is really really ANNOYING.
    To be more preciese I have two phones with identical games installed:
    On one (Xiaomi MI 9T) the ads come from Google. They are easy to mute and the muting actually works.
    On the other (Xiaomi Redmi 9T) the ads come from Unity for the same game. And the are (some swearing goes here) LOUD. And the volume can't be controlled.
    I tried to complain to every single ad, the game is muted, the volume on the phone is muted. But the ads playing ON THE FULL DAMN VOLUME.
    This ad behaviour is unacceptable.
    Is there a way to opt-out unity ads completely and enable google ones?

P.S. If I would like to develop a game - I would never make the end user to suffer from such ads. It is some kind of anti-ads, you know? I would never download anything that uses such kind of advertising.

unity_velella likes this.
  2. kirill_unity340

kirill_unity340

Have the same problem in our game. Very loud ads despite the fact that the sound is turned off.
    Xiaomi Poco M3
    Android 10
    Unity 2019.4.5
    Advertisement package 3.5.2

3. Kodiakkb

Kodiakkb

Same here with a Redmi 9T as well. It shouts at max level on every Unity Ad even if my phone is muted. This is VERY annoying and could even be dangerous if I were to wear headphones.

4. ap-unity

ap-unity

Unity Technologies

@grozail, @kirill_unity340, @Kodiakkb

Thanks for reporting this issue. We are working on reproducing it. So far none of the devices we have available have this behavior, but we are getting other devices to test.