Search Unity

Mutation Testing Unity Specific Programming Features

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by Vahv, Jan 25, 2022.

1. Vahv

Vahv

Hey everyone! I'm currently doing my master's thesis on developing and analyzing a tool for mutation testing Unity-games by mutating syntax of Unity specific programming features in the game's code.

Quick summary of mutation testing: Mutation testing is used for evaluating quality of current software tests. Bugs are simulated by making small modifications to program code. Then test sets are run with the modified code and if the test set does not fail we can deduce that our test set is inadequate.

So for example we could change the lines containing
    Code (CSharp):
    1. if (obj.CompareTag("Enemy"))
    to
    Code (CSharp):
    1. if (obj.CompareTag("Player"))
    and see if it makes our tests fail, which it should. This would be one mutation operator.

Now I'm wondering what mutation operators I should use for a tool like this and if there might be any well reasoned or even "scientific" ways to decide them. Ideally mutation operators should:
    1. Be simple changes to a single line of code
    2. (Simulate real errors made by real programmers)
    So far the best I've got is pretty much
    1. https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/ScriptingImportantClasses.html this page which describes important scripting classes which could be used as a reason to make mutations to these classes
    2. https://thesis.cust.edu.pk/UploadedFiles/Thesis Final.pdf#page=49 this thesis with much of same goal as mine which also defines Unity specific mutation operators. It isn't really explained why exactly these operators were chosen however.