Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiple textures per material

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by baylor, Jan 6, 2010.

1. baylor

baylor

Hi, i'm new to Unity and fairly new to 3D. We're porting a 2D game and i have a noob question. Hopefully this is the correct forum (note: i also posted on the beta answers Web site but i wasn't sure how active or permanent that is)

How does one make a material that has multiple textures? How does one change those textures at run time?

Our game is a dress up/fashion game. There are ~35 layers/types of clothing (including tattoos and makeup). Many things are mounted (belts, hair, mustaches, glasses, etc.) but quite a few are not. The doll has 4 skinned meshes (body (divided into regions to allow different tattoos), upper (shirts, vests, bikini tops, etc.), lower (pants, shorts, socks, etc.) and over (dress, coat, cape, etc.)). Each mesh has a material. Different layers of clothing go in different parts of the mesh - bra is upper[1], undershirt is upper[2], necklace is upper[3], overshirt is upper[4], jacket is over[1], etc. We could, of course, use multiple skinned meshes but those get to be a real pain once you have several

In T3D (where we prototyped the game), a material has a texture array and setting/changing one was done with the code
    myMaterial.diffuseMap[1] = "tshirt.png";
    myMaterial.diffuseMap[3] = "vest.png";
    i'm trying to find the Unity equivalent. i'm fairly sure Unity supports multiple textures per material (the skybox seems to use 6), i just haven't figured out the keywords to make it work

2. antenna-tree

antenna-tree

3. baylor

baylor