Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

multiple scenes concurrently runnning

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by AnomalusUndrdog, Nov 22, 2009.

1. AnomalusUndrdog

AnomalusUndrdog

Newbie here. I don't get it. In the online strategy game we're trying to make, the player plays on a certain map against AI opponents. The server is an authoritative server. So the player data, AI objects, the map itself also exist on the server.

The thing is, its an online game, so more than one player plays the game. This means the server needs to administer multiple play sessions concurrently, processing collisions on multiple autonomous maps, while making sure collisions on one player's playing session does not affect collisions on another player's playing session.

Is it even possible at all for Unity to administer multiple scenes?

2. dbryson

dbryson

I'm not sure I understand what you want to do. Why would multiple players be playing on the same server if they don't interact with each other (i.e. they are just playing against an AI)?

I'm new to Unity too, but I don't think it's possible simultaneously.

3. AnomalusUndrdog

AnomalusUndrdog

I've given a poor example. Not only AI, but there will be player versus player situations too. So collisions in the play session of two particular players should not affect the play session of other players.

I just hope there's a way to do this.

4. dbryson

dbryson

First, if you haven't I would suggest checking out the networking information in the manual:

http://unity3d.com/support/documentation/Components/Network Reference Guide.html