Search Unity

Multiple Cameras over separate scenes

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by tbrowwnnn, Jul 6, 2018.

1. tbrowwnnn

tbrowwnnn

Hi there, Im pretty new to Unity and Cinemachine and am just looking for a bit of help.

Im currently figuring out how to move from one scene to another without losing information when switching between scenes. Instead of using the dont destroy on load method I've been using the additive method where I make my player its own scene. This way I can keep rules and hud options across multiple scenes.

However, the problem I run into is with the camera. If I put a virtual camera on my scene that my player has loaded into it cannot follow the player since its in its own scene.

This is resolved if I put the vcam with my player scene however I then am not able to confine my camera anymore since my polygon collider is in the level scene. Seeing as every scene has its own collider it would be difficult to put every collider in the game in my players scene.

This also causes problems with parallaxing as this uses the camera movement and references different backgrounds images in each separate scene.

Is there any way to reference my player in a separate scene? Thank you in advance.

2. Adam_Myhill

Adam_Myhill

Cross-scene dependancies / linking is an area which can definitely cause pain. We're working on a binding component which lets you link things between scenes to help manage this but it's not released yet.

The big question - why are you using so many different scenes? If you need to contain areas so multiple people can work on then, prefabs are a solid method. They handle version control and let different people work on things at the same time (once they're setup of course).

Otherwise you'll need to either consider keeping your characters and cameras in the same scene(s).

3. tbrowwnnn

tbrowwnnn