Search Unity

Multiplayer with dedicated server: let’s discuss best practices

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by K1kk0z90_Unity, May 5, 2019.

1. K1kk0z90_Unity

K1kk0z90_Unity

Hi all, :)

I’ve been programming games for years, but I’m still a newbie when it comes to networking. I want to start this thread for newbies like me, to try helping each other with development of a multiplayer game with a centralized server architecture, and to discuss best practices and ask for feedback to experts.
    I’ll start by briefly describing my current approach to multiplayer with dedicated server, kindly asking for feedback, and asking few questions.

I have developed a prototype for a very simple turn-based strategy game (like Checkers). I have implemented real-time multiplayer using the Telepathy library (which uses TCP), using a fully authoritative server architecture: the server keeps the game state, computes game logic and notifies clients; clients only get player input and send commands to the server.

In my implementation, the server-side code is separate from client-side code, but it is still inside the Unity project. I have a Server scene which contains only a game object with a GameServer script attached, which keeps listening for clients’ connections: when two players have connected, it starts a new match and stops accepting new connections until the match is over or one client has disconnected.

When I want to make a server build, I only include the Server scene and I make a Windows or Linux headless build (by checking the “Server Build” option). When I want to make a client build, I include all other scenes and build for iOS or Android.

Is it a good approach? What is yours?

Here are some questions that I have: