Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiplayer Recoloring Sprites

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Jozzuph, Feb 13, 2023.

1. Jozzuph

Jozzuph

Hey, so essentially, what I want to happen is whenever an entity gets damaged, they blink red, which I have working fine in single player. (Please be beginner friendly, I'm pretty new to networking stuff).

I'm using Netcode for Game Objects.

I'm having a problem where the client isn't allowed to write to a variable even though they should have permission. This makes it, so the blink color only applies for the specific client when they get hurt, instead of all clients.

InvalidOperationException: Client is not allowed to write to this NetworkVariable
    Unity.Netcode.NetworkVariable`1[T].set_Value (T value) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.netcode.gameobjects@1.1.0/Runtime/NetworkVariable/NetworkVariable.cs:64)

This is the script I have for the blinking, and it's called when an entity takes damage.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using Unity.Netcode;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class DamagedBlink : NetworkBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public SpriteRenderer spriteBod;
    8.     public Coroutine damagedBlink;
    9.     public float blinkTime = 0.2f;
    11.     public Color originalColor;
    12.     public Color damagedColor = new((255 / 255), (89 / 255), (94 / 255)); //colors are normalized from 0 - 1 so this needs to be done;
    13.     [HideInInspector] public NetworkVariable<Color> _originalColor;
    14.     [HideInInspector] public NetworkVariable<Color> _damagedColor;
    16.     public override void OnNetworkSpawn()
    17.     {
    18.         spriteBod = transform.Find("Body").GetComponent<SpriteRenderer>();
    19.         originalColor = spriteBod.color;