Search Unity

Multiplayer Mapping and Classes

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by pizzasmart, Dec 15, 2017.

1. pizzasmart

pizzasmart

Hello! I'm new to the Unity forums so excuse me if this isn't in the right category.

I'm working on a class-based first person shooter and I'm asking about how to create maps designed for multiplayer in this regard. This can be seperated into a few subquestions:
    1. What weaknesses can each class have? (weak point in the legs, shooting a jetpack will disable it, etc)
    2. How can classes counter one another specifically?
    3. How can I design multiplayer maps so classes can feel like they have a use? (for example, snipers have long hallways, the stealth class has flanking routes, etc)

CLASSES
    Each class can have one of two abilities, and each ability defines their role (eg a Juggernaut using Slam is a Brawler). Only one class mod can be equipped.

Scout

The Scout armour is optimised for reconnaissance and survival in any terrain. Good for veteran players
    Roles: Recon (long range, marking enemies), Gunrunner (fast CQC)
    Ability: Mark
    Mark enemies that you look at directly. Marked enemies can be seen through walls, on your radar and by your team
    SAB (Speed and Health Boost)
    When SAB is injected; the leg muscles contract and the armour’s integrity will go into overdrive, meaning that the user will run faster and armour integrity will quickly regenerate.
    Passive: Jump higher and gain the ability to slide
    Scout mods: Marker (marked enemies stay marked for longer), Weak Point (marked enemies take more damage), Shock Absorbers (Shoot while sprinting when under the influence of SAB)
    Weaknesses:
    Health: 100
    Speed: 2m/s

Stealth
    The Stealth armour is designed for infiltration missions. Good for intermediate players
    Roles: Infiltrator (spread chaos among groups), Assassin (single enemy takedown)
    Ability: Cloak