Search Unity

Multiplayer Choices

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by ThatGuyPT, Jul 4, 2014.

1. ThatGuyPT

ThatGuyPT

Hey guys.

So, I'm not completely new into coding, I've coded in several languages before, started at C, then I learned PHP, moved to C#, C++ and started coding for web (JavaScript, HTML, CSS); but I'm completely new to game development. I choose Unity because Unity has shown me several good results for games such as but not limited to Rust or The Forest, I love these kind of games and I got bored at my summer break so I decided I could do something useful and try to start creating a game like these, why not?

So let's make things clear:
    I might actually never commercialize this, nor am I sure that I will ever release or having anyone playing on the same server else than me on unity player and on a windows build. BUT I'm doing this for the experience and knowledge, so and even though it might and most likely will be a failure I wanted to do things right (for the knowledge).

So firstly I looked into Photon, it seems okay but I haven't understand something yet. Are the servers hosted in some kind of facility from Photon or do the players host a server and then other people join them? If it is the first option then it makes it totally nonviable to go with Photon as I want to have the ability to have 50+ players in one server (even though I most likely will never do so) and I don't want to pay them to host the servers.

I was looking for an alternative that could actually hold a good amount of simultaneous people that would be on the same map, have guns, inventories, shoot each other, jump, maybe even building or barricading buildings (just some examples, even though one more time they might never become true, it's for the experience), and I would like to give the players a chance to host a server in their own computer or have dedicated servers running the game servers.

That would be nice.