Search Unity

Multi screen in linux

Discussion in 'Linux' started by knobby67, Jun 7, 2016.

  1. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    389
    Hi All,
    In my work right now I run 3 screens, sometimes two. One full speed high res. The other two for instruments and at much lower speed ( frame rate ), this means most of the GPU powers the "render" screen with all the 3d stuff on it. In my own code I use opengl with sdl2, I switch context for screens and render to 3 boarderless windows.
    So I know my environment is set up as my own system works.
    I can see documentation of multi screen in unity but I can't seem get it to work. So
    1. Can anyone point me to a tutorial on using multiple monitors.
    2. Can I set frame rates for each window/screen?
    3. How does unity decide what scene is rendering to what window? I can't find how to load multiple scenes and how to switch contexts to each monitor/screen.
     
  2. Tak

    Tak

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,001
    This isn't really specific to Editor on Linux.
    Multidisplay support in Unity is currently pretty limited to a specific use case: you know in advance how many displays you're using, and you will run the one camera per display at native resolution.
    You set the display for each camera in the Unity editor, as described in the manual.
    I don't believe it's possible to have a separate framerate per screen.
     
    knobby67 likes this.
  3. CrandellWS

    CrandellWS

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Posts:
    178
    @Tak I am having an issue with dual screens where any undocked / windowed `Tabs` are always forced to the "Primary Display"

    upload_2021-1-21_13-33-32.png

    here is a video of what I mean:

     
  4. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    239
    @CrandellWS, can you let me know what Unity and Ubuntu versions you are using? It looks like Unity 2019.4 on Ubuntu 16.04?

    Keep in mind that our Ubuntu support is for 18.04 and 20.04.

    Also, does this repro with the latest release of Unity
     
  5. CrandellWS

    CrandellWS

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Posts:
    178
    It's Ubuntu 20.04.

    and yes in the LTS release 2019.4.18f1 this issue happens...

    in Unity 2020.2.1f1 it seems to work fine

    But I need to use a LTS for production...

    thanks for any help @KevinWelton
     
  6. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    239
    @CrandellWS, I spent most of today looking at this. Phew!

    We've done a lot of refactoring of the windowing system in the Linux Editor since 2019.4. Fixing the issue is non-trivial as it will regress other scenarios. We want to spend our time getting ready for coming out of beta, so it's unlikely we'll get to this.
     
    CrandellWS likes this.
  7. CrandellWS

    CrandellWS

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Posts:
    178
    thanks for the truth