Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

MudBun: Volumetric VFX Mesh Tool - [Official Thread]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Allen-Chou, Jan 14, 2021.

  1. MrPotatoBread

    MrPotatoBread

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    So I have messed with Mudbun for a little while, and I love it. I made an HDRP project though and for some reason all the mudbun shapes and effects are rendered as being misaligned by 1 meter on the X axis with its own origin. Seems to work great otherwise but this is an odd issue..
    Screen Shot 2022-04-08 at 4.41.56 AM.png
     
  2. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    That's odd.
    Can you tell me the repro steps as well as the versions of Windows, Unity, HDRP, and MudBun you were using?
    It would be very helpful if you can just attach the scene in question so I can debug it directly.
     
  3. MrPotatoBread

    MrPotatoBread

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Sorry I didn't get back right away. The version of Unity is 2021.2.19f1, with HDRP 12.1.6, and the latest version of Mudbun. It's an entirely empty HDRP project, I just started from the HDRP Core sample project, added a plane and new material, and dropped Mudbun in. Since then I added a reflection probe and such but that doesn't matter. Do you just need the scene or the entire project (minus the Library folder)?
     
  4. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    The scene would be enough.
     
  5. MrPotatoBread

    MrPotatoBread

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Coolio, I packed a the main material and scene files as well so that it hopefully won't be all pink. Should be able to just add this to an empty HDRP project with Mudbun in the versions I stated above.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Hmm. I tested under Unity 2021.2.12f1 and HDRP 12.1.4 and this is what I got.
    I doubt that the slight lag in the minor versions would make this difference.
    The thing that stood out to me is that you were using MacOS instead of Windows.
    Do you have access to a Windows machine to test this scene on?

    upload_2022-4-10_23-42-36.png
     
  7. MrPotatoBread

    MrPotatoBread

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    No I don't, sorry I didn't mention that before. Maybe it's an issue with Metal? HDRP doesn't support OpenGLCore for Mac now, so I can't test that either.

    This problem doesn't occur in URP by the way. However the reason I wanted to try HDRP instead is because I did notice that reflection probes don't show up on Mudbun brushes in URP, and neither does screen space ambient occlusion. Is this intentional or maybe is it also an issue on my end that I just assumed was intentional? When locking Mudbun renderers as meshrenderers with UV mapping I am able to bake lightmaps, I just can't see reflections on them except for the skybox. Everything else works as expected.

    EDIT: Reflection probes do work on locked meshrenderer meshes, but not using blending or box projection

    Love this asset btw, keep up the good work! :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2022
  8. HuginnRaven

    HuginnRaven

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Posts:
    33
    Code (csharp):
    1. ValidateMenuItem target for Mud Bun does not exist
    2. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent (int,intptr,bool&)
    I'm getting this error on a fresh install of MudBun. Any idea on how to solve it?

    I'm using the latest LTS on an up to date Windows 10.
     
  9. tcn5150

    tcn5150

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Posts:
    24
    I'm running into an issue getting MudBun 1.4.36 installed on a clean install of 2021.2.19f1/HDRP. I see warnings in the console:

    Burst is now needed for MudBun's new raycast-based selection & CPU-based computations (SDF/normal/raycast/snap).
    Please import the Burst package (version 1.2.3 or 1.7.0 and newer) in Unity's package manager and then click Tools > MudBun > Refresh Compatibility.

    The problem is, 2021.2.19f1 includes Burst 1.6.5, and there seems to be no way to get 1.7+ that I can find. The package manager does not offer any higher versions, even with pre-released packages enabled.

    And if I click "refresh compatibility" without updating Burst, this introduces lots of shader errors like:
    Shader error in 'MudBun/Floater Splat (HDRP)': undeclared identifier 'ComputeScreenPos' at line 5051 (on d3d11)

    It is possible to use MudBun 1.4.36 / Burst 1.7+ with 2021.2.19f1?
     
  10. Gregg-Patton

    Gregg-Patton

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    You can add this line to Packages/manifest.json ...
    "com.unity.burst": "1.7.1",
     
  11. andybyte

    andybyte

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Really enjoying this asset and getting a lot of ideas. Is there a way to download the example you show in this video?


    Particularly the first scene?
     
  12. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    That is actually an HDRP example called Preset Render Material Gallery.
    Different render pipelines have different examples.
     
  13. rojosedanogatofelipe

    rojosedanogatofelipe

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, does anyone have this error?:
    D:\Proyectos Unity3d\My project space virus\Assets\MudBun\Script\Editor\CreationMenu.cs(375): Ignoring shortcut attribute with duplicate identifier "Main Menu/GameObject/Mud Bun/Primitives/Box".
    Shortcut attribute on MudBun.CreationMenu.CreateBox is using identifier "Main Menu/GameObject/Mud Bun/Primitives/Box" which is already in use by another shortcut attribute.
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent (int,intptr,bool&)


    How is it corrected?
    Thanks
     
    elliotc-unity likes this.
  14. bagelbaker

    bagelbaker

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Posts:
    66
    Unity doesn't like to have a menu item with the same name as a submenu. We commented out these lines as we don't need them and the other warnings will go away.
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     //[MenuItem("GameObject/Mud Bun", priority = 151)]
    2.     //public static void MudBunSubMenuHelper() { }
     
    elliotc-unity likes this.
  15. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Oh, is this why? For the life of me I could not figure out what the warning was about. It only happens on newer Unity versions and only occasionally, so I had some trouble reproducing reliably.

    I think I added that extra submenu item to ensure the submenu's order in the top-level menu. Choosing between that and fixing the warning, I think the latter might be the better choice. Or if you have any suggestion on how to specify the submenu's order in the top-level menu, I'm all ears.

    Thanks for the tip!
     
  16. Crzed

    Crzed

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2022
  17. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Oh. That’s not good. I’m suspecting that it might have something to do with render bounds. Do you see the same issue in other render modes? I’ll try to reproduce it. If you can provide a sample scene that can reproduce your issue that would help immensely with pinpointing the issue.
     
  18. Crzed

    Crzed

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    It's decal only. I confirmed it happens in URP as well before I gave up.

    I'm not at my PC currently. To reprod, just start moving around an object that leaves a decal trail while following it with a 3rd person camera and you'll encounter it immediately. Do so in game view, scene view won't always show the error.
     
  19. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Hi. Sorry for the late reply.
    I wasn't able to repro the issue with a trail created by a particle system brush.
    How are you creating the trail?
    Would you be able to provide a minimal package that reproduces this issue?
    Thanks.
     
  20. thenme

    thenme

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, I bought Mudbun today, and the asset works great in Unity, my game is running alright, but when I'm building it to run it on ios, it stops running as soon as a MudRenderer is implied, and XCode is returning this message:
    Execution of the command buffer was aborted due to an error during execution. Ignored (for causing prior/excessive GPU errors) (00000004:kIOGPUCommandBufferCallbackErrorSubmissionsIgnored)

    Thanks for your help.

    EDIT 1 : I now can see an error message about a shader in the Unity console, don't know if it's related but here it is, just in case :
    Metal: Vertex or Fragment Shader "MudBun/Mud Mesh Single-Textured (Built-In RP)" requires a ComputeBuffer at index 1 to be bound, but none provided. Skipping draw calls to avoid crashing.
    EDIT 2 : I realize now that MudBun is not support for Mac, so I guess this is the cause of my issues. This is so sad cause I love it so much, really hope it might work some day soon
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2022
  21. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Apologies for the late response.
    Yes, MudBun is only officially supported and actively tested on Windows.
    As much as I want to support multiple platforms, I'm afraid I simply don't have enough time.
     
  22. thenme

    thenme

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    No worries, my bad, didn't noticed this in the asset infos
     
  23. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    835
    I'm considering purchasing MudBun but I would like to know whether a character that is "locked" and autorigged whether it's mecanim compatible. If not, how are animations handled? My use case would be to create assets and characters that can be locked and used in target platforms such as Switch and Mobile (excluding low end devices.)
     
  24. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    The asset was not created with mecanim specifically in mind. And I'm actually not familiar with what being compatible with mecanim means.

    Auto-rigging simply rigs the locked mesh by treating the brush objects' transforms as bones and assign weights to them for each vertex of the locked mesh. Mind that the weight computation is rather rudimentary, based on each vertex's distance from each brush's surface using its signed distance function. MudBun's auto-rigging is really meant for a rough first pass, and more sophisticated rigging adjustments should be done using dedicated tools. But for some use cases, the initial auto-rigging is good enough.

    Does this answer your question?
     
  25. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    835
    It does. Thank you!
     
  26. wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    Ray-Traced Voxels in URP example Only Shadow display. Every Object can't see in Scene. How to set option?
     
  27. wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    I export the object to fbx ,but no mesh in fbx file(only see transform node).what is right way?
     
  28. wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    allready solved by Lock mesh and Mesh render mode.
     
  29. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Did you open it in a URP project? What were the versions of Unity, OS, and render pipeline you were using?
     
  30. wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    wechat_os_Qy07oG6LBuLwxrt0ao4ZkEwPc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    unity 2021.3.13
    win10
    URP render
    upload_2023-4-18_19-36-28.png

    upload_2023-4-18_19-37-3.png
     
  31. Allen-Chou

    Allen-Chou

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Hmm. It could be broken due to an update to either URP or MudBun.
    I can take a look, but it won't be a high priority task since the ray-traced voxels render mode is an experimental feature.