Search Unity

Resolved Moving objects with noise

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by T3CHNOCIDE, Mar 18, 2020.

1. T3CHNOCIDE

T3CHNOCIDE

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to shader graph so please forgive me if this is a really simple and stupid mistake. I am trying to make a shader which makes a group of objects bob up and down in the Y axis as if floating on waves.

I have adapted a wind shader to apply to the y axis of an object (original shader: https://blogs.unity3d.com/2018/10/05/art-that-moves-creating-animated-materials-with-shader-graph/). Using noise has worked great to make the up down motion which flows like a wave, however this applies to each vertex making the whole object distort.

Is there a way to get this to apply to the object position as a whole and not each individual vertex?

Any help would be greatly appeciated. upload_2020-3-18_22-19-30.png upload_2020-3-18_22-19-57.png

2. neoshaman

neoshaman

Bake the pivot position into the vertex color, you probably need only 2 channels, apply bobing to it, then use that as the offset on the vertex. idk if there is a more elegant way of doing it.

T3CHNOCIDE likes this.
  3. bgolus

bgolus

Use the Object node's Position output instead of the Position node.

4. T3CHNOCIDE

T3CHNOCIDE

Hi both, thank you for your replies!

@neoshaman - Is there a particular way to bake the pivot position? Or any guides?

@bgolus - I tried to use the object node, however even when feeding the object position into the vertex position input of the master, the object doesn't render.

5. neoshaman

neoshaman

I'll guess you need to code a custom baker ... I haven't done it yet, it's on the pile of thing I should do, look around if there is some forum posts who already answer that

6. bgolus

bgolus

Sorry, I should be more specific.