Search Unity

Moving from spaghetti scripts to scriptable objects or similar??

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by yusefkerr, Jun 26, 2019.

1. yusefkerr

yusefkerr

Hello, This question has a couple of different parts, I hope that's ok.

For context, I'm a senior 3D artist with some experience scripting in c#, and I can usually get basic things to work in Unity by copying code snippets and trial/error. I'm working on a simple card game in Unity for fun, and I know I could get through this using my regular spaghetti methods, but it's a good chance to start doing things in a more regular way.

In this particular game, the intention is for each card to present different information depending on where it is placed on a virtual board, so I basically have a spreadsheet table with the names of each card along the top and the possible positions of play down the side. There's 24 cards, 4 positions, so 96 entries in my database.

My usual method would be to add a collision volume on each of the 24 cards, create a different trigger volume for each of the four positions, and then put something like this in a c# script for each separate card

Code (CSharp):
    1.  OnCollisionEnter(Collision other)
    2. {
    3.      if(other.collider.name == "Position 1")
    4.      {
    5.          // Print first position text for this particular card
    6.      }
    8. if(other.collider.name == "Position 2")
    9.      {
    10.          // Print second position text for this particular card
    11.      }
    12. }
    This is manageable for 24 cards, but what would be the best way to do this if I plan to expand the rules of the game, increase the number of cards, add more variables, etc, more easily?

Put another way, are there general approaches for working on more advanced "databasey" things in a similar vein, like inventory systems, virtual economies, rpg stats, etc, that I could use here?