Search Unity

Movement based on Camera direction help. C#

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TheDevilsHitman, Sep 11, 2017.

1. TheDevilsHitman

TheDevilsHitman

Hello, I was hoping to ask a question as I am a little bit stuck on coding movement for my Player.
    First off, I have currently a somewhat working build of movement for a Third Person camera, using transform.Translate and a Orbital camera system I have made it that it can move around using the Cameras transform as the direction. However for moving forward and backward (using Vector3.forward) he bumps/hops a little bit across the ground, Til I figured out that its calculating the currentY of the Cameras orbital movements. Its fine for the Left and Right movement (Essentially strafeing). But since I am new to Unity (I do have coding experience from GML from Game Maker and dabbled a bit in 3D from there I know somewhat what to do) I was wondering if theres any particular way of making the Player object move forward and backwards by using the Cameras currentX rather than both Y and X. Because I realize the term for transform is using all of its positioning where it is in the world. Again, New to Unity so any clarification would be nice. And due to saying that Id like to keep the coding maybe somewhat simple and broken down so I can learn as I go along with it. Ill post what I have here currently so that people may take a look at what I have.

Player Code:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class MovementPlayer : MonoBehaviour {
    6.     //Global VAR's
    7.     public static int HP = 100;
    8.     public static int MAXHP = 100;
    9.     public static int STAM = 100;
    10.     public static int MAXSTAM = 100;
    13.     //Movement VAR's
    14.     public float MoveSpeed = 4f;
    15.     public float TurnSpeed = 50.0f;
    16.     public int Can_Run = 0;
    17.     public int Ground = 0;
    18.     public int Gravity = 5;