Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Move object back and forth with same button?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by jcfrizz, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. jcfrizz

    jcfrizz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    Hi everyone, I am new to coding and Unity, so sorry if this is a newbie question. I am designing my user interface, and am creating a panel that slides into view on a button click, and slides back into view on the same button click. Also, by button, I mean by using a button on the screen. So far, I have gotten the panel to slide out where I want it on the first click, but I can not figure out how to get it to slide back when I hit the button again. How would I go about doing this?

    Thanks for the help in advance!

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.UI;
    5.  
    6. public class SlideOpenClose : MonoBehaviour {
    7.  
    8.     RectTransform canvas;
    9.     RectTransform image;
    10.     Vector3 startingPosition;
    11.     public float speed;
    12.  
    13.     void Start()
    14.     {
    15.         image = gameObject.GetComponent<RectTransform>();
    16.         canvas = GameObject.Find("Canvas").GetComponent<RectTransform>();
    17.         startingPosition = transform.position;
    18.         speed = 295f;
    19.     }
    20.  
    21.     public void MoveTheSlider () {
    22.         transform.Translate(speed, 0f, 0f);
    23.         if (image.position.x < -image.rect.height)
    24.             transform.position = new Vector3 (canvas.rect.height + image.rect.height, startingPosition.y, startingPosition.z);
    25.     }
    26.      
    27. }
    28.  
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  2. methos5k

    methos5k

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Posts:
    8,712
    You could try a coroutine to move it from spot A to spot B.
    You could choose whether such a routine would run to completion or be interrupted (as in alter the direction it's going while in-progress).
    You could also use Unity's animation, which might work nicely for this type of thing.
    (the end result would be the same, I think).

    Had any progress since your post?
     
  3. AverageGamerAlert

    AverageGamerAlert

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    any progress
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,520
    Rather than necro-posting to a six-year-old thread, please start your own post. It's FREE.

    When you post, keep this in mind:

    How to report your problem productively in the Unity3D forums:

    http://plbm.com/?p=220

    This is the bare minimum of information to report:

    - what you want
    - what you tried
    - what you expected to happen
    - what actually happened, log output, variable values, and especially any errors you see
    - links to documentation you used to cross-check your work (CRITICAL!!!)


    If you post a code snippet, ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS:

    How to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

    If you have no idea what you are doing, start with tutorials.

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! Here's how:

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly?

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.