Search Unity

Mouse & Keyboard Input lag

Discussion in 'Input System' started by NanushTol, Dec 10, 2019.

  1. NanushTol

    NanushTol

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Posts:
    131
    *** Edit:
    If anyone has a similar problem, I found a workaround, setting the input system update mode to "Dynamic" instead of "Fixed update" fixed the problem and the mouse & keyboard are working good now with no lag.

    I'm having a weird behavior on the mouse & keyboard input in the editor.
    with a controller everything works fine.
    when I load my project it works ok, not perfect, it lags just a tiny bit, but the longer unity is open the longer the mouse & keyboard lag, it reaches a point that it takes almost a second or two.
    I'm on unity 2019.3.0f1
    does any one has an Idea how can I find the source for this problem and debug this?
    has anyone encountered this problem to?

     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019
    yonatanab1 likes this.
  2. NanushTol

    NanushTol

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Posts:
    131
    this is a bug report case number for this 1204518
     
  3. pantang

    pantang

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Posts:
    219
    Ive just come across this same bug after updating to 2019.3.9f1 any ideas on a work around? I couldn't find an option to turn the input system to dynamic, do I have to change my code? Any help much appreciated. Lol still works great in build but makes testing in the editor incredibly frustrating.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
    RakNet likes this.
  4. pantang

    pantang

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Posts:
    219
    I also tried updating to the new input system that is in preview but I still have the same issue. As long as I keep inputs short it keeps up but if I keep moving the mouse or holding down keys the delay increases
     
  5. NanushTol

    NanushTol

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Posts:
    131
    if you have the new input system on this project go to
    edit > project settings > input system package > in here you'll have an update method drop down choose dynamic
     
  6. pantang

    pantang

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Posts:
    219
    Thank you I will have a look I ended up reverting to a previous version to solve it. is it good practice for future reference to have it set to dynamic?
     
  7. RakNet

    RakNet

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    315
    This happens even without using the new input system.
     
  8. ReeceXW

    ReeceXW

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Posts:
    2
  9. ohlin

    ohlin

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    In the drop down for the input system package > update method choosing fixed solved the jitter issue for me.
     
  10. yonatanab1

    yonatanab1

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Posts:
    56
    LEGEND

    2022 AND STILL RELEVENT

    saved my project! THANK YOU❤️
    ❤️
    ❤️

    ❤️❤️❤️
     
    mariannapizzo likes this.