Search Unity

Morals and where to draw the line - Game Development

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mvinc006, Sep 27, 2018.

1. mvinc006

mvinc006

I have been pondering an idea for the past six months, and after some thought am ready to move it from an idea to prototyping, however I feel its 'core game play' may raise some moral or otherwise ethical questions.

Being a first time indie developer (with multiple un-released completed projects) I am running into a problem where I don't know where to draw the line when it comes to glorifying crime, of particular concern to me is potentially giving people the knowledge to commit crime in a real world environment.

What I'm after is a casual discussion about where you think I, as the developer, need to draw the line in a situation where the core game-play is breaking into peoples homes.

As it stands I don't have any plans for a major over-reaching story or plot, other than to get good, learn the mechanics I'll put in place, and have a good ol time racking that cash in.

I can't elaborate on this much more for fear that I'd sell myself out, also being a first solid idea I've had in a long time I don't want to over-reach.

Thanks for your time, and I may make a poll if there is enough feedback on this.

Martin_H likes this.
  2. Billy4184

Billy4184

It goes without saying that context matters. I mean, breaking and entering in a survival game in a setting like the Walking Dead is hardly going to raise an eyebrow, since the context is that you are surviving in an explicitly hostile environment and competing for limited resources.