Search Unity

Monoscopic VR Display

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by felt9099, Sep 22, 2019.

1. felt9099

felt9099

Hello all -

I'm a researcher looking to create a monoscopic display in VR (same image to each eye). I am using the SteamVR plug-in and have two cameras, one to each eye.

The cameras are set to the exact same position and they preview the same image, but in the headset itself they still show two separate images.

Am I missing something? Is there a way to get the same image to each eye?

Thank you.

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

It might be some code in the VR middleware that is resetting your cameras. Did you try printing the camera positions at runtime and compare them to what you set at editor time? Did you try moving them back to the same point at runtime?

You also might have better luck posting in the VR/XR/AR group in these forums.

3. felt9099

felt9099

Thanks for the reply. Other sources seem to suggest it is the VR middleware at play - I can disable the middleware to stop the automatic switch back, but then can't use the VR which defeats the purpose.

I crossposted this on the VR/XR/AR group as well. Will take suggestions where ever I can get them!

4. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

I'm not even sure what the user would feel eyeball-wise if you duped the view left and right... I think it would be extremely jarring honestly, because of the mismatch between focus and convergence.

5. felt9099

felt9099

It should be equivalent to staring at a television - the only stereoscopic cue missing would be convergence, so it (should) just look like a "flat" display. No stereoscopic cues.

6. Anicrofmana

Anicrofmana

Hello,
    Have you found a solution to this ?
    I actually need to render the same image in both eyes using steamVR

In the SteamVR.cs script, in the OnNewPose function, it was said you could set eyes[1] = eyes[0] to transform your render to a monoscopic render, but it doesn't work with me..