Search Unity

Monodevelop vs Visual studio

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by mushey, Nov 20, 2016.

1. mushey

mushey

hi im new to unity, whats the difference between monodevelop and visual studio,im currently using visual studio...

2. makeshiftwings

makeshiftwings

Visual Studio is awesome, and MonoDevelop sucks. Those are the main differences. ;)

If you already know how to use Visual Studio, you should stick with it. The main thing MonoDevelop has going for it is that it's free, but if you've already got a copy of VS that may not matter. There is also Visual Studio Code, which is the free version. VS Code is a little more complicated to set up with Unity than the full version of VS but still better than MonoDevelop in my opinion.

3. DroidifyDevs

DroidifyDevs

If you're new, here's pretty much everything summed up in 1 line:

Monodevelop is bad, Visual Studio is good.

In all honesty, I've only used VS's debugger once or twice. I just like the overall workflow, the customizable UI, the super smart code prediction and handy keyboard shortcuts that Monodevelop doesn't have. Oh and Visual Studio starts 99% of the time, while Monodevelop crashes more often than it doesn't. Since I wrote my very first line of code in Visual Studio, I've used it since.

mushey likes this.
  4. absolute_disgrace

absolute_disgrace

+1 Visual Studio

I haven't tried MonoDevelop but i'll root for the VS team because I've used it and its pretty great. I've used a few coding editors in my time and there are a tonne of features I've fallen in love with in this editor.

mushey likes this.
  5. Timelog

Timelog

Visual Studio Community 2015 is free (limited to non enterprise commercial use), and basically the complete toolset of what used to be Visual Studio Pro pre 2015 versions, so there is 0.0 reasons to use MonoDevelop in my opinion.

makeshiftwings and DroidifyDevs like this.
  6. Baste

Baste

Unless you're on a mac wait whoops.

7. Scabbage

Scabbage